Sources for Six Senses Zighy Bay
Every line on the Six Senses Zighy Bay record, with where it came from, what kind of source it is and the date we read it.
Back to the record- Current as of
- 4 Aug 2026
- Last reviewed
- 4 Aug 2026
- Strongest evidence
- Certified
- Coverage
- Documented across 8 of 8 pathways.
Practical details and location
The practical details and the map point, 25.7099, 56.2731
Safely managed drinking water, Oman, 2024: The World Health Organization reports 91 per cent of the population nationally using a safely managed drinking water service. This describes the country, not this property, and says nothing about what reaches a guest room here. It is recorded because it is the background against which a property's own treatment is worth publishing.
Regional data is context about the location. It does not establish conditions inside a room.
Ambient PM2.5 and PM10 near Musandam, Oman, 30 days to 2026-08-17: Modelled ambient air over this location averaged 44.0 micrograms per cubic metre of PM2.5 and 109.9 of PM10 across the 720 hours to 2026-08-17, peaking at 77.3 PM2.5. The World Health Organization annual guideline for PM2.5 is 5. This is the outdoor air over the area, modelled rather than measured on site, and it is not a reading of the air inside any room.
Regional data is context about the location. It does not establish conditions inside a room.
Evidence by area
All eight areas, in the order this index reads them. Every line was read and placed by a person.
Air Ecology
Press reporting from a 2020 site visit states the resort scents its spaces by burning frankincense resin, known locally as bukhoor, which is a combustion source inside the building envelope. No accompanying particulate measurement is published.
In their words: “Instead of using toxic air fresheners, they burn locally produced resins like frankincense, known as _Bukhoor_,”
Read it: Six Senses Zighy Bay: a sustainable feast for all senses Archived copy
The official resort factsheet lists individually controlled air conditioning and ceiling fans as villa features. No filter grade, ventilation rate or air quality measurement is stated.
Six Senses states that it maintains an internal document called Six Senses Standards for Design and Construction covering ventilation and healthy rooms. The document itself is not published and no figures from it are disclosed.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Water Integrity
Press reporting from a 2020 site visit names the full on site seawater treatment train used to produce potable water: sand filtration at the well, reverse osmosis, chlorination, ultraviolet treatment and mineral addition.
In their words: “the seawater is converted into potable water by a series of filtration (sand filter in well, etc), RO (reverse osmosis), chlorination, UV filters, and mineral addition.”
Read it: Six Senses Zighy Bay: a sustainable feast for all senses Archived copy
Six Senses states that every resort operates its own filtration and bottling facility for still and sparkling drinking water, a practice in place since 2003.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Press reporting from a 2020 site visit states the resort salt water pool is filled from the brine stream rejected by the reverse osmosis plant. No pool or spa chemistry is published.
In their words: “they have very smartly used brine to create a special salt pool, exactly like the blue lagoons in Iceland!”
Read it: Six Senses Zighy Bay: a sustainable feast for all senses Archived copy
Light Rhythm
Six Senses states that its properties use dark sky lighting. No fixture specification, compliance standard or measurement is named.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Press reporting on the architecture describes a seasonal daylight strategy in which deep overhangs shade windows from high summer sun while admitting lower winter light.
Read it: Desert modern: three hotels shaping Oman's architectural identity Archived copy
The group sleep programme states that room lighting may be altered for participating guests. No colour temperature, lux level or flicker performance is given.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
EMF Harmony
Not published. We looked and found nothing on this, which is a gap in what we could read, not a finding about the building.
Materials and Textiles
The property publishes that drinking water is served in refillable glass rather than single use plastic, with a 2024 count of 287,088 bottles refilled in villas and restaurants. No composition or migration testing of the glass or its closures is published.
In their words: “287,088 water bottles were refilled in villas and restaurants”
Six Senses publishes a plastic elimination methodology documenting 82 substitution solutions across housekeeping, back of house, food and beverage, and spa.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
The official factsheet names the mattress supplier as Naturalmat and states the sheets are fine unbleached cotton.
Press reporting from a site visit lists the material certifications carried by the beds in use here: FSC certified pine, Soil Association certified organic lambswool and organic latex.
In their words: “The main elements are FSC certified pine wood, soil association certified organic lambswool, organic latex which comes from the world's only organic certified rubber, organic coir from fairtrade initiative coconuts.”
Read it: Six Senses Zighy Bay: a sustainable feast for all senses Archived copy
Six Senses states that biologically active cleaning solutions are grown on site in batches to replace chemical cleaners, and that plant based insecticides are distilled in place of chemical sprays.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Press reporting names Meranti hardwood as the timber used in doors, window frames and ceiling beams.
In their words: “Meranti hardwood, a durable tropical timber, appears in doors, window frames, and ceiling beams.”
Read it: Desert modern: three hotels shaping Oman's architectural identity Archived copy
Food and Kitchen
The property publishes that its own Dibba Farm, which is off site, supplied 5,054 kilograms of fresh produce in 2024, and that 937 litres of its own goat milk were made into cheese. No share of total kitchen produce is given.
In their words: “Dibba Farm continued to play a key role in sustainable operations, supplying 5,054 kilograms of fresh produce”
Read it: Six Senses Zighy Bay unveils its 2024 sustainability and community milestones
Six Senses publishes a dated target of 40 percent plant based menus by 2026, and a 2025 group figure of 77,007 kilograms of vegetables grown in its own gardens and served in its restaurants.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
The official factsheet states the resort runs an on site organic garden and a farm at nearby Dibba supplying produce and livestock to the kitchens.
The Eat With Six Senses food philosophy is published as a three part mantra covering natural ingredients, less is more, and local and sustainable. It names no supplier verification protocol, additive list, cookware policy or cooking oil policy.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Biophilic and Healing Design
Press reporting on the architecture states villas were sited to catch prevailing breezes in order to reduce reliance on mechanical cooling.
Read it: Desert modern: three hotels shaping Oman's architectural identity Archived copy
Press reporting states the lobby dome carries an oculus admitting daylight, and the spa is organised around an alley of running water referencing traditional falaj irrigation channels.
Read it: Desert modern: three hotels shaping Oman's architectural identity Archived copy
The official factsheet states the villas are built of natural stone and timber in a traditional style. No species, quarry, supplier or finish is named, so the materials are described by category rather than specified.
Six Senses states that its landscaping uses local and non invasive plant varieties selected to highlight native habitat.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Sound and Sensory Ecology
The group sleep programme states that a sound therapy machine may be offered on request. No background noise level, acoustic separation or mechanical noise rating is published for any room.
It covers the operator or the group, not this property on its own.
Certifications
GSTC Industry Criteria, issued by Control Union, accredited by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council
Awarded: Not stated. Valid until: Not stated.
GSTC multi site certification, issued by Control Union, accredited by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council
Awarded: Not stated. Valid until: Not stated.
Hotel Sustainability Benchmarking, issued by Cornell University
Awarded: Not stated. Valid until: Not stated.
Global Tourism Plastics Initiative, issued by UN Environment Programme and UN Tourism
Awarded: Not stated. Valid until: Not stated.
Disclosures
Compare what each stay offers, how it was checked and what still needs confirming. Assessment labels describe the review, not an overall quality rating.
A low score means a property has not published information. It does not mean the property is unsafe, unhealthy or poorly run.
A score describes proof: what a stay publishes and, on a Human Garage certified stay, what our assessor checked in person. It is not a quality rating of the property. Listings are free, and any commercial relationship is disclosed.