Sources for Miraval The Red Sea
Every line on the Miraval The Red Sea record, with where it came from, what kind of source it is and the date we read it.
Back to the record- Current as of
- 17 Aug 2026
- Last reviewed
- 17 Aug 2026
- Strongest evidence
- Certified
- Coverage
- Documented across 8 of 8 pathways.
Practical details and location
The practical details and the map point, 25.4992, 36.9701
The property’s own website
The property's own site: its name and its place are on the page
Ambient PM2.5 and PM10 near Shura Island, Umluj, Saudi Arabia, 30 days to 2026-08-17: Modelled ambient air over this location averaged 18.1 micrograms per cubic metre of PM2.5 and 49.6 of PM10 across the 720 hours to 2026-08-17, peaking at 33.9 PM2.5. The World Health Organization annual guideline for PM2.5 is 5. This is the outdoor air over the area, modelled rather than measured on site, and it is not a reading of the air inside any room.
Regional data is context about the location. It does not establish conditions inside a room.
Evidence by area
All eight areas, in the order this index reads them. Every line was read and placed by a person.
Air Ecology
Travel press published on 1 June 2026 states that the resort's open spaces are designed to maximise sea breezes, describing passive ventilation across the property rather than guest rooms, with no ventilation rate, filtration grade or air measurement given.
In their words: “Natural stone, wood, woven textures and mineral finishes feature throughout the property, while open spaces are designed to maximise natural light and sea breezes.”
Read it: Miraval opens first international resort at The Red Sea Archived copy
Water Integrity
The property's own accommodations page lists filtered water first among the in-room details it says each space is infused with, naming no filtration specification, water source, treatment train or test result. The quote is a verbatim fragment of that sentence.
In their words: “filtered water, meditation cushions, and meditation channels”
Read it: Resort Room & Suite Accommodations | Miraval The Red Sea Archived copy
Light Rhythm
Trade press published on 23 December 2025 describes expansive windows admitting daylight and, in a separate sentence, floor to ceiling windows in the interiors, with no glazing specification, visible light transmittance or daylight measurement given.
In their words: “Inspired by coral reefs, desert landscapes, and mangrove ecosystems, the resort features terracotta rammed-earth walls, natural textures, and expansive windows that usher in abundant daylight.”
Read it: Miraval The Red Sea set to open on Shura Island Archived copy
The property's own accommodations page describes the guest room lighting as soft, with no colour temperature, fixture, control system, flicker figure or blackout provision named.
In their words: “Our rooms are designed for stillness and simplicity, with warm textures, soft lighting, and intuitive comforts that allow your day to begin and end in peace.”
Read it: Resort Room & Suite Accommodations | Miraval The Red Sea Archived copy
EMF Harmony
Not published. We looked and found nothing on this, which is a gap in what we could read, not a finding about the building.
Materials and Textiles
Trade press published on 23 December 2025 states that the resort is built with terracotta rammed earth walls, naming a construction method for the wall surfaces, with no emission standard, volatile organic compound limit, sealant or finish specification attached.
In their words: “Inspired by coral reefs, desert landscapes, and mangrove ecosystems, the resort features terracotta rammed-earth walls, natural textures, and expansive windows that usher in abundant daylight.”
Read it: Miraval The Red Sea set to open on Shura Island Archived copy
The property's own accommodations page describes the guest room floors as sustainable wood and the finishes as earth-toned and natural, with no species, supplier, grade, coating or certification named.
In their words: “From sustainable wood flooring to soothing earth-toned finishes and natural materials, your surroundings reflect a mindful approach to design and wellbeing.”
Read it: Resort Room & Suite Accommodations | Miraval The Red Sea Archived copy
Travel press published on 1 June 2026 lists the material palette used through the property as categories only, naming no species, brand, supplier or emission standard.
In their words: “Natural stone, wood, woven textures and mineral finishes feature throughout the property, while open spaces are designed to maximise natural light and sea breezes.”
Read it: Miraval opens first international resort at The Red Sea Archived copy
Food and Kitchen
Regional press published on 9 February 2026 states that the menus across the three dining venues use seasonal, locally sourced ingredients, naming no farm, grower, supplier, region or share of produce.
In their words: “From all-day dining at Rosemary to light bites at Palm Court and appetisers at Coral Cove, menus showcase seasonal, locally sourced ingredients.”
Read it: Set to be Saudi's first wellness resort of its kind, Miraval The Red Sea eyes H1 opening Archived copy
Travel press published on 30 December 2025 lists farm-to-table sourcing among the resort's practices, in a sentence that also covers packaging and energy, with no farm, supplier or verification named.
In their words: “Nestled amidst a protected mangrove forest, the resort embraces regenerative practices through farm-to-table sourcing, biodiversity preservation, fair-trade partnerships, and eco-conscious operations including compostable packaging and energy-efficient design, all aligned with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.”
Read it: Miraval The Red Sea Set to Open on The Red Sea's Shura Island Archived copy
Travel press published on 1 June 2026 states that the main restaurant serves a plant-forward menu built on seasonal ingredients, naming no supplier and giving no sourcing share.
In their words: “Rosemary, the resort's main restaurant, serves a plant-forward menu focused on seasonal ingredients and balanced nutrition.”
Read it: Miraval opens first international resort at The Red Sea Archived copy
Biophilic and Healing Design
The operator's own opening announcement, dated 9 June 2026, publishes the design intent for the resort as buildings set into the island's lagoon and mangrove landscape using natural materials and coral-inspired forms, naming the architect and interior designer but no planting palette, species or material specification.
In their words: “Architecture and interiors by Foster + Partners and Rockwell Group have created a restorative retreat of 180 guestrooms, suites and villas woven into the island's natural landscape of lagoons and mangroves using natural materials, desert tones and coral-inspired forms to achieve a calm environment.”
Read it: The Miraval Brand Debuts Globally with Opening of Miraval The Red Sea in Saudi Arabia Archived copy
Trade press published on 23 December 2025 states that guest interiors have floor to ceiling windows and that each has a terrace or deck, describing outlook and direct outdoor access with no ceiling height, volume or dimension given.
In their words: “Interiors blend muted tones, natural textures, and floor-to-ceiling windows, with terraces or decks that invite guests to pause and reconnect with nature.”
Read it: Miraval The Red Sea set to open on Shura Island Archived copy
Trade press published on 23 December 2025 states that water features and a walking meditation labyrinth are built into the resort's landscape as contemplative spaces, describing designed intent with no landscape architect, planting list or species named.
In their words: “With a deep commitment to sustainability and regeneration, water features create a calm, restorative atmosphere while contemplative spaces such as the Miraval Labyrinth, offer a winding path for walking meditation, guiding guests through moments of reflection, and self-awareness.”
Read it: Miraval The Red Sea set to open on Shura Island Archived copy
Sound and Sensory Ecology
Not published. We looked and found nothing on this, which is a gap in what we could read, not a finding about the building.
Certifications
LEED v4 BD+C: Hospitality, issued by U.S. Green Building Council
Awarded: Not stated. Valid until: Not stated.
Disclosures
Compare what each stay offers, how it was checked and what still needs confirming. Assessment labels describe the review, not an overall quality rating.
A low score means a property has not published information. It does not mean the property is unsafe, unhealthy or poorly run.
A score describes proof: what a stay publishes and, on a Human Garage certified stay, what our assessor checked in person. It is not a quality rating of the property. Listings are free, and any commercial relationship is disclosed.