Hotel Marcel is a hotel in New Haven, Connecticut, United States. This page records what the property publishes about its building, across the eight pathways this index reviews.
Photography: Hotel Marcel's published media
The recordCertified · read 13 Sept 2026
Current as of
13 Sept 2026
Last reviewed
14 Aug 2026
Coverage
Documented across 8 of 8 pathways.
Strongest evidence
Certified
Sources
Each entry shows its source and the date we read it.
Practical details
Type
Hotel
Operator
Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Rooms
165 rooms and suites
Stage
Operating
Listing details from Google Places, read 6 Aug 2026.
A 165 room hotel in New Haven, Connecticut, in a retrofitted precast concrete building, run under Hilton's Tapestry Collection.
A closer look at Hotel Marcel
A 165 room hotel in New Haven, Connecticut, in a retrofitted precast concrete building, run under Hilton's Tapestry Collection. It is certified Passive House EnerPHit and LEED Platinum, runs all electric with induction cooking and no fossil fuels, and publishes its energy figures in detail. Those are energy and carbon facts, and none of them is scored here. What this record scores is what the building does to the air, light, water and sound a guest lives in, and on that the published record is specific on Air Ecology, Light Rhythm, Materials and Textiles and Sound and Sensory Ecology, and silent on EMF Harmony.
A Brutalist office block, made habitableOne hundred and sixty five rooms in Marcel Breuer's 1970 precast concrete building beside Interstate 95 in…
One hundred and sixty five rooms in Marcel Breuer's 1970 precast concrete building beside Interstate 95 in New Haven, retrofitted rather than replaced and run under Hilton's Tapestry Collection. It is certified Passive House EnerPHit and LEED Platinum, runs all electric with induction cooking and no fossil fuels on site, and publishes its energy figures in detail; none of that is scored here, because energy is not one of the eight. What a guest meets is: incoming air filtered at MERV 13 through Swegon energy recovery ventilators, triple-pane argon-filled laminated glazing against the motorway, motorised sheer and blackout shades on a touch panel and a bedside remote, and Oeko-Tex organic cotton linens.
What this property publishes, area by area
All eight areas, for every record. Each row opens to what was published, where we read it and when.
Publishing something is not the same as it being good. Every line below was read and placed by a person, not scored by a machine. What each rung means
Named means the property published something you can look up: a brand, a product or a number. Stated means it says so with nothing behind it. Not published means we looked and found nothing, which is a gap in our reading and not an answer about the building.
Air Ecology6 source notesPublished or supplied
The air in a closed room is what you breathe for eight hours. What decides it is the filter grade, the fresh air rate, and whether damp has ever been looked for.
Trade press reporting on the retrofit states that incoming ventilation air is filtered by MERV 13 rated filters. The filter grade is named, no filter change interval, airflow rate or particulate reading is published.
Published by Architectural Products, read 14 Aug 2026.
The incoming ventilation air is filtered by high-efficiency MERV-13-rated filters which reduces the quantity of airborne pollutants.
The same article names the energy recovery ventilator manufacturer as Swegon and describes the unit transferring heat and moisture between exhaust and incoming outdoor air. No model, ventilation rate or recovery efficiency figure is published.
Published by Architectural Products, read 14 Aug 2026.
For the Swegon Energy Recovery Ventilators, the system exchanges both heat and moisture energy between the outgoing exhaust air streams with the incoming outdoor air.
Variable air volume boxes meter ventilation air per zone and carbon dioxide levels are monitored to reduce airflow when occupancy is low. Carbon dioxide is named as a control input and no measured concentration is published.
Published by Architectural Products, read 14 Aug 2026.
Another energy-saving feature is Variable Air Volume (VAV) boxes which meter the amount of ventilation air provided to and extracted from each individual ventilation zone.
The kitchen hoods are described as using a four stage filtration process including a high efficiency filter and carbon charcoal filter pack. No filter grade or capture efficiency is published.
Published by Architectural Products, read 14 Aug 2026.
The hoods utilize a self-contained 4-stage filtration process to reduce emissions which includes a high-efficiency filter/carbon-charcoal filter pack.
The equipment manufacturer's case study names the air source variable refrigerant flow system and the energy recovery ventilators as the heating, cooling and ventilation equipment. No airflow rate or filtration figure appears in the case study.
Published by Mitsubishi Electric Trane HVAC US, read 14 Aug 2026.
A CITY MULTI® air-source Variable Refrigerant Flow (VRF) system from METUS complemented by energy recovery ventilators (ERV), was selected for the hotel's heating, cooling and ventilation requirements.
The hotel states that it operates without fossil fuels, that the kitchen uses induction cooking and that banquet service uses induction equipment with no sterno fuel. The statements sit under sustainability and are framed as carbon measures, and no combustion appliance inventory or air reading accompanies them.
Induction cooking to avoid any need for fossil fuels
What to ask them
What filter grade is fitted to guest room air handling, for example MERV 13 or HEPA H13?
What is the fresh air supply rate per person in a guest room?
Are carbon dioxide, particulate or volatile organic compound levels measured, and are the readings published?
Is there a mould inspection and remediation protocol, and when was it last run?
Are there gas cooktops, fireplaces or other combustion sources inside guest rooms?
Water Integrity1 source notePublished or supplied
You drink it, cook with it and stand under it. What is in it depends on the source and on what, if anything, filters it, and both are things a property can name.
A travel publication's account of a stay mentions touch free water stations in the lobby. No water source, treatment train, filtration specification, laboratory panel or dispenser brand is published.
The lobby served as her picture-posing playground, where she hunted for shapes, like the triangles in the restaurant's funkily-shaped glasses, while I hunted for its earth-first touches, from touch-free water stations to a plaque certifying the zero-emission hotel as one of the nation's first LEED Platinum certified hotels, on its way to be net zero by the end of this year.
What to ask them
What is the water source, and what treatment is applied before it reaches a guest room?
Is there a published contaminant test panel, and which laboratory ran it?
Is shower and bath water filtered, and to what specification?
How are pools and spas sanitised, and is the chemistry published?
How is drinking water delivered, and is it treated on site?
Light Rhythm4 source notesPublished or supplied
Light is what tells a body the time of day. The part a building controls is what its fittings emit and when, which a named product or a colour temperature makes checkable.
The room features list states that each room has motorised sheer and blackout window shades controlled from a touch panel and a bedside remote. Blackout provision and its control method are specified, no fabric, opacity rating or supplier is named.
Touch panel and bedside remote control of art and vestibule lights and motorized sheer and black-out window shades
The hotel names a Power over Ethernet direct current low voltage system as the power and control layer for all lighting and shades. It is published under renewable energy beside a lighting energy saving figure, and it names no colour temperature, tunability, dimming range or flicker performance, so it describes an electrical topology rather than anything about what the light does. Recorded at the tier that carries no specification.
Power-over-Ethernet (POE) DC low voltage system provides power and control of all lighting and shades in the hotel
The room features list gives the guest room glazing as triple pane windows five feet high with hardwood surrounds by Stickley. The height of the glazed opening is published, no glazing manufacturer, visible light transmittance or daylight factor is published.
Triple-pane energy-efficient sound insulated 5 foot-high windows with Stickley hardwood window surrounds
A travel publication reports that interior facing guest rooms receive daylight from the building's central light well. No daylight measurement or glazing area is published.
All of the hotel's guest rooms have natural lighting thanks to the interior rooms facing the hotel's central lightwell
What to ask them
Is guest room lighting tunable or circadian, and what specification is published?
What colour temperatures are used in the evening, and are fixtures flicker free?
Do sleeping areas have full blackout, and is it specified?
What daylight access does a typical room have?
Is exterior lighting shielded or reduced overnight?
EMF HarmonyNo evidence recordedNothing found yet
Wiring, routers and devices put electromagnetic fields in a room. What a building decides is where they sit relative to the bed, and whether anyone has measured it.
We found nothing published on this. That is a gap in what we could read, not a finding about the building.
What to ask them
Are guest rooms wired for data, or is access wireless only?
Where are wireless access points and smart meters placed relative to the bed?
Have field levels been measured in sleeping areas, and by whom?
Can a guest have wireless disabled in their room on request?
Is any shielded cabling or shielding material specified in the build?
Materials and Textiles6 source notesPublished or supplied
The things you sleep on and touch: the mattress, the sheets, the pillows, and the paints, glues and finishes around them. A named fabric, a fibre content or a certification can be looked up. A structural palette tells you about the building, not about the bed.
The room features list states that guest room linens are organic cotton certified to Oeko-Tex. The particular Oeko-Tex standard, product class and certificate number are not published.
Luxury linens made from Oeko-tex certified organic cotton
The room features list names the mattress model fitted in guest rooms. No core composition, foam type, cover fabric or flame retardant treatment is published for it.
Serta Perfect Sleeper TempActive Suite Dreams NXT mattress
The design page names the casegoods designer and manufacturer and gives the casegoods as solid hardwood. No timber species, finish, adhesive or emission class is published.
The hotel states that no single use plastics are used for events, dining or guest room bathroom amenities. The statement is published under recyclable products as a waste measure and names no replacement material.
No single use plastics are used for events, dining, and guest room bathroom amenities
What to ask them
What are the mattresses made of, and are they treated with flame retardants?
What is the fibre content of the linen, and is it certified, for example to GOTS or OEKO TEX?
Which paints, adhesives and sealants were specified, and are they low emission?
What cleaning and laundry products are used, and is the list published?
Are there named low emission certifications on the flooring or joinery?
Food and Kitchen3 source notesPublished or supplied
What a kitchen cooks with and where it buys are the parts of a stay you take inside you. A named oil, a named supplier or a published share is checkable; “healthy” is not.
Regional food press names Four Mile River Farm in Old Lyme, Connecticut as the beef supplier for the hotel's restaurant BLDG, and reports that each farm and purveyor is listed on the back of the menu. No share of purchasing and no certification is published.
Gill cites the Haus Burger as one of her favorite burgers ever, giving credit to the beef that's from Four Mile River Farm in Old Lyme, a family operation that prides itself on giving its livestock the best life possible.
The restaurant's own about page publishes a list of named farms and purveyors including Four Miles River Farm, Norwich Meadows, G.R.O.W.E.R.S Inc., Arethusa Farm, La Belle Farm, Seacoast Mushrooms and LP Seafood and Specialty. No share of produce, sourcing radius or third party verification is published alongside the list.
Tying into BLDG's mission of sustainable dining, Chef sources her menu's ingredients locally and from farmers who instill sustainability into their practice.
The hotel states under sustainable operations that it procures locally sourced ingredients and sustainably produced offerings. No supplier, share or verification method is given in that statement.
Procures locally sourced ingredients and sustainably produced offerings
What to ask them
What share of produce is grown on site or sourced locally, and is it verified?
Which cooking oils are used, and is the policy published?
What cookware is used in the kitchen?
Is kitchen and ice water filtered, and to what specification?
Is there a published position on additives, preservatives or allergens?
Biophilic and Healing Design4 source notesPublished or supplied
Daylight, planting, outlook and the way a room meets the outside are what make a place feel the way it does. Named design decisions can be checked; atmosphere cannot.
The room features list gives the bed as a custom walnut bed made in Connecticut with an integrated nightstand, naming the timber in direct contact with the sleeping area.
Connecticut-made custom walnut bed with integrated nightstand and custom sconces
The design page names the materials of the circulation spaces, including board formed concrete walls, steel railings, mahogany handrails and terrazzo treads and risers.
The stairwells feature board-formed cast-in-place concrete walls, but steel machined railings, mahogany handrails, and trapezoidal terrazzo treads and risers.
Trade press reports that the conversion created two light wells and turned former mechanical spaces into open air courtyards to bring daylight further into the plan. The intent is published, no dimensions or daylight measurement are given.
Published by Architectural Products, read 14 Aug 2026.
distributing more daylight to the interior with the creation of two light wells and the transformation of former mechanical spaces into open-air courtyards
The design page describes the building envelope as precast concrete panels framing 525 windows. The count is a building element count and no window area, room volume or ceiling height is published.
The hotel's exterior is composed of high-strength precast concrete panels known as Mosai panels that frame the building's 525 windows.
What to ask them
Does every guest room have direct outdoor access or an operable opening?
What is the published design intent behind the natural materials used?
What are the typical ceiling heights and room volumes?
Was the landscape designed with native planting, and is the palette published?
Sound and Sensory Ecology3 source notesPublished or supplied
What you can hear at three in the morning decides whether you slept. Insulation, plant and machinery, and what sits next door are what decide it.
The room features list describes the guest room windows as triple pane and sound insulated. No sound transmission class, glazing manufacturer or measured internal noise level is published.
Triple-pane energy-efficient sound insulated 5 foot-high windows with Stickley hardwood window surrounds
Trade press gives the replacement glazing specification as triple glazed, argon filled and laminated, and states the windows act as acoustic dampeners given the hotel's proximity to Interstate 95. No decibel figure or sound transmission rating is published.
Published by Architectural Products, read 14 Aug 2026.
In addition to the insulation, the windows also act as acoustic dampeners which is key as the hotel sits close to I-95.
A travel publication reports the writer's impression that highway noise was not audible in the guest room. No measurement was taken and none is published.
the thick windows completely drown out the noise from the surrounding highways
What to ask them
What is the measured background noise level in a guest room at night?
What acoustic separation is specified between adjoining keys?
How loud is the guest room air conditioning at its lowest setting?
Is fragrance diffused into guest rooms or public areas, and can it be declined?
Not everything is published, and an empty row is a gap in what we could read rather than a fault in the building. If one of these matters to you, ask the property before you book. Send us something that updates this record
Certifications
Passive House EnerPHit
Issued by Passive House Institute
Property
Awarded: Not stated · Valid until: Not stated · Source checked: 13 Sept 2026
Feature sources and certification records show their own scope and dates.
Compare what each stay offers, how it was checked and what still needs confirming. Assessment labels describe the review, not an overall quality rating.
A low score means a property has not published information. It does not mean the property is unsafe, unhealthy or poorly run.
These scores describe disclosure, not property quality. Listings are free, and any commercial relationship is disclosed.
Regional data is context about the location. It does not establish conditions inside a room.
Safely managed drinking water, USA · 2024The World Health Organization reports 98 per cent of the population nationally, 98 per cent in urban areas using a safely managed drinking water service. This describes the country, not this property, and says nothing about what reaches a guest room here. It is recorded because it is the background against which a property's own treatment is worth publishing.World Health Organization
Ambient PM2.5 and PM10 near New Haven, Connecticut, United States · 30 days to 2026-08-17Modelled ambient air over this location averaged 12.2 micrograms per cubic metre of PM2.5 and 13.4 of PM10 across the 720 hours to 2026-08-17, peaking at 67.5 PM2.5. The World Health Organization annual guideline for PM2.5 is 5. This is the outdoor air over the area, modelled rather than measured on site, and it is not a reading of the air inside any room.Open-Meteo, from CAMS