Explore other stays

Uluwatu, Bali · Indonesia

Six Senses Bali.

Temporarily closed from 1 February 2026, says the property’s own website.

Photography: Six Senses Bali's published media

4.5 · 6 of 8 pathways noted · Listed · From public sources, not confirmed directly · 2 pathways still unconfirmed

What this place offers

  • Spa with eight treatment rooms
  • Sauna, steam and whirlpool
  • Cryo chamber
  • Yoga and meditation pavilion
  • Indoor fitness centre
  • Infinity pool
  • Wellness screening

A closer look at Six Senses Bali

On the limestone cliff at Pecatu, a few minutes from Pura Uluwatu, above the surf breaks at the southern tip of Bali. Twenty-eight sky suites and penthouses on the upper level, seventy-five cliff pool villas stepping down toward the edge, and two private estates with their own spas and kitchens, the Presidential Villa and The Retreat. Every one faces the Indian Ocean. The resort opened as Six Senses Uluwatu, closed on 1 February 2026 for a renovation it calls a thoughtful transformation, and will reopen as Six Senses Bali on a date it has not yet published. The rooms shown on its site are the reimagined ones.

The bedThe mattress is a group specification and a good one: organic lamb's wool over coir from a certified organic…

The mattress is a group specification and a good one: organic lamb's wool over coir from a certified organic coconut plantation, a latex layer from a certified organic rubber plantation, a quilted cotton cover. Guests who sleep hot can ask for eucalyptus linen. Furniture is sourced within a thousand kilometres. What the bed rests in is less documented. No paint, no textile certification and no cleaning product is named; the group says biodegradable and leaves it there.

The spaEight treatment rooms and a couple's suite, sauna, steam and whirlpool, a cryo chamber, an Alchemy Bar for…

Eight treatment rooms and a couple's suite, sauna, steam and whirlpool, a cryo chamber, an Alchemy Bar for blending your own scrubs, a yoga and meditation pavilion and an indoor gym, with wellness screening on arrival. Balinese boreh wraps and lulur scrubs sit beside detox and yoga programmes. Children have their own programme, Grow With Six Senses, and nannies can be booked.

Where it is

Uluwatu, Bali, IndonesiaAsia-Pacific

Open in OpenStreetMap
Directions and arrival, on the property’s site
The recordCertified · current as of 6 Sept 2026
Current as of
6 Sept 2026
Last reviewed
17 Oct 2026
Coverage
Documented across 8 of 8 pathways.
Strongest evidence
Certified

Evidence

Wellness Score 4.5, last changed 6 Sept 2026 when the newest evidence was read. It moves only when evidence does. How the score is made

Publishing something is not the same as it being good. Every line below was read and placed by a person, not scored by a machine. What each rung means

Verified in person means a Human Garage Certified Spaces assessor saw it on site. Named means the property published something you can look up: a brand, a product or a number. Stated means it says so with nothing behind it. Not published means we looked and found nothing, which is a gap in our reading and not an answer about the building.

Six Senses Bali

The evidence, area by area

Sources for this page

Air1 note

  • 1 stated

The air in a closed room is what you breathe for eight hours. What decides it is the filter grade, the fresh air rate, and whether damp has ever been looked for.

  • Group passive cooling statement

    On their website

    The group states that its hotels use passive cooling, listed beside energy efficiency and Earth Labs on the brand sustainability page. No ventilation rate, filter grade or air reading is published for this property.

    Source
What to ask them
  • What filter grade is fitted to guest room air handling, for example MERV 13 or HEPA H13?
  • What is the fresh air supply rate per person in a guest room?
  • Are carbon dioxide, particulate or volatile organic compound levels measured, and are the readings published?
  • Is there a mould inspection and remediation protocol, and when was it last run?
  • Are there gas cooktops, fireplaces or other combustion sources inside guest rooms?

Water2 notes

  • 2 stated

You drink it, cook with it and stand under it. What is in it depends on the source and on what, if anything, filters it, and both are things a property can name.

  • Glass bottles, source unstated

    On their website

    Drinking water is served in refilled glass bottles rather than plastic, and the resort publishes the count of bottles avoided. The source and treatment of the water in the bottle is not published, so the count is a plastics figure rather than a water specification.

    Source
  • Drinking water in rooms

    Published by Six Senses Bali

    The factsheet lists Six Senses drinking water among the room amenities, with no treatment named.

    Source
What to ask them
  • What is the water source, and what treatment is applied before it reaches a guest room?
  • Is there a published contaminant test panel, and which laboratory ran it?
  • Is shower and bath water filtered, and to what specification?
  • How are pools and spas sanitised, and is the chemistry published?
  • How is drinking water delivered, and is it treated on site?

Light & sleep2 notes

  • 2 stated

Light is what tells a body the time of day. The part a building controls is what its fittings emit and when, which a named product or a colour temperature makes checkable.

  • Daylit by passive design

    Published by Six Senses Bali

    The factsheet describes buildings lit by daylight through passive design. No lux level, colour temperature or blackout provision is published for any room.

    Source
  • Timeshifter jet lag app

    On their website

    The group publishes a named circadian intervention for arriving guests, complimentary access to the Timeshifter app for a personalised jet lag plan. This is a scheduling tool rather than a lighting specification.

    Source
What to ask them
  • Is guest room lighting tunable or circadian, and what specification is published?
  • What colour temperatures are used in the evening, and are fixtures flicker free?
  • Do sleeping areas have full blackout, and is it specified?
  • What daylight access does a typical room have?
  • Is exterior lighting shielded or reduced overnight?

Materials4 notes

  • 1 named
  • 3 stated

The things you sleep on and touch: the mattress, the sheets, the pillows, and the paints, glues and finishes around them. A named fabric, a fibre content or a certification can be looked up. A structural palette tells you about the building, not about the bed.

  • Wool, coir, latex mattress

    On their website

    The mattress is specified by fibre and by the certification of its inputs at group level: organic lamb's wool over coir from a certified organic coconut plantation, a latex layer from a certified organic rubber plantation, under a quilted cotton cover. No emission or composition test result is published.

    Source
  • Eucalyptus linen, certification unstated

    On their website

    On the group sleep programme the linen is named by fibre source, sustainably sourced eucalyptus, offered to guests who sleep hot. No textile certification is published.

    Source
  • Furniture within 1,000 kilometres

    Published by Six Senses Bali

    The factsheet states that all furniture is sourced within 1,000 kilometres, citing a green building standard by name. This is a sourcing distance, not an emissions or finish specification, and no maker or species is named.

    Source
  • Biodegradable cleaning, products unnamed

    On their website

    The group states that its hotels use biodegradable cleaning products. No product or supplier is named for this property.

    Source
What to ask them
  • What are the mattresses made of, and are they treated with flame retardants?
  • What is the fibre content of the linen, and is it certified, for example to GOTS or OEKO TEX?
  • Which paints, adhesives and sealants were specified, and are they low emission?
  • What cleaning and laundry products are used, and is the list published?
  • Are there named low emission certifications on the flooring or joinery?

Food3 notes

  • 1 named
  • 2 stated

What a kitchen cooks with and where it buys are the parts of a stay you take inside you. A named oil, a named supplier or a published share is checkable; “healthy” is not.

  • Organic Garden, share unstated

    On their websiteOrganic Garden

    The kitchens are supplied from an organic garden on the resort's own site, named on the factsheet as the Organic Garden and Earth Lab, and the bar draws on the same gardens. The share of total supply is not published and the organic claim carries no certifier.

    Source
  • Seafood from Jimbaran fishers

    On their website

    The seafood is attributed to the fishers of Jimbaran, a named village on the bay below the resort, with no boat or supplier named.

    Source
  • No flavour enhancers

    On their website

    The group's food principles, applied in every outlet, exclude flavour enhancers and reduce sugar, gluten, lactose and lectins. No cooking oil, cookware or organic share is named for this property.

    Source
What to ask them
  • What share of produce is grown on site or sourced locally, and is it verified?
  • Which cooking oils are used, and is the policy published?
  • What cookware is used in the kitchen?
  • Is kitchen and ice water filtered, and to what specification?
  • Is there a published position on additives, preservatives or allergens?

Nature2 notes

  • 2 stated

Daylight, planting, outlook and the way a room meets the outside are what make a place feel the way it does. Named design decisions can be checked; atmosphere cannot.

  • Vegetation between villas

    On their website

    The suites are described with planting on one side and the ocean on the other, and the villas as separated by natural vegetation. No planting inventory or view measurement is published.

    Source
  • Villas screened by planting

    Published by Six Senses Bali

    The factsheet describes daylit buildings through passive design and villas screened from one another by planting. This is a stated intent rather than a published siting method.

    Source
What to ask them
  • Does every guest room have direct outdoor access or an operable opening?
  • What is the published design intent behind the natural materials used?
  • What are the typical ceiling heights and room volumes?
  • Was the landscape designed with native planting, and is the palette published?

Wireless & wiringNot published

Wiring, routers and devices put electromagnetic fields in a room. What a building decides is where they sit relative to the bed, and whether anyone has measured it.

We found nothing published on this. That is a gap in what we could read, not a finding about the building.

What to ask them
  • Are guest rooms wired for data, or is access wireless only?
  • Where are wireless access points and smart meters placed relative to the bed?
  • Have field levels been measured in sleeping areas, and by whom?
  • Can a guest have wireless disabled in their room on request?
  • Is any shielded cabling or shielding material specified in the build?

QuietNot published

What you can hear at three in the morning decides whether you slept. Insulation, plant and machinery, and what sits next door are what decide it.

We found nothing published on this. That is a gap in what we could read, not a finding about the building.

What to ask them
  • What is the measured background noise level in a guest room at night?
  • What acoustic separation is specified between adjoining keys?
  • How loud is the guest room air conditioning at its lowest setting?
  • Is fragrance diffused into guest rooms or public areas, and can it be declined?

Not everything is published, and an empty row is a gap in what we could read rather than a fault in the building. If one of these matters to you, ask the property before you book. Send us something that updates this record

Certifications

  • GSTC multi site certification

    Issued by Control Union, accredited by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council

    Certified, January 2025, covering all operating Six Senses hotels except Kyoto and Grenada

Six Senses Bali

Certification details

GSTC multi site certification

Issued by Control Union, accredited by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council

Operator or group, not a property-specific award

Awarded: Not stated · Valid until: Not stated

Certified, January 2025, covering all operating Six Senses hotels except Kyoto and Grenada

Scope, dates & supporting details
Issuer
Control Union, accredited by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council
Scope
Operator or group, not a property-specific award
Level / version
Certified, January 2025, covering all operating Six Senses hotels except Kyoto and Grenada
Awarded
Not stated
Valid until
Not stated

Reviews from Google

Reviews on Google Maps

DisclosuresResearch updated 17 Oct 2026

Compare what each stay offers, how it was checked and what still needs confirming. Assessment labels describe the review, not an overall quality rating.

An unconfirmed pathway means we have not found evidence yet. It does not mean the property is unsafe, unhealthy or poorly run.

A Wellness Score rates what a stay has demonstrated: what it publishes, what it confirmed with us and, on a Certified stay, what Human Garage Certified Spaces assessed. Pathways we know nothing about are left out, and the Evidence label beside every score says how much is known. Listings are free.

Published corrections

Is this your property? Correct or claim this listing

Check rooms & dates
See all stays
The resort from the air, its infinity pool and villas along the cliff top with the surf breaking on the reef far below and the coast running north